Stuart's Volkswagen Golf Mk 7/VII Forum

Previous Topic | Forum Index | Next Topic

Infotainment screen display won't retain last choice

Posted by private, Sat 3 Feb 2018 7:47 pm
I was very interested to read the advice in Golf Mk 7 Secrets regarding the default display of the Infotainment system defaulting to “Convenience consumers” view in Eco mode. I’ve been using Eo mode for the last 2 years and the default keeps changing, much to my annoyance as I like to check the fuel consumption. I tried your tip of setting it to Individual Driving Mode with the same options as Eco mode but it still didn’t retain the last view (I’d like it to be Driving Data). I’ve been on to the agents about it numerous times and they’ve tried “recalibrating and parameterising”, along with a software update, but to no avail. Any ideas? Has anyone else had this problem?
Posted by StuartDalby, Sat 3 Feb 2018 8:02 pm
This is weird. It definitely works on my 2013 Mk 7 fitted with the Composition Media Infotainment System (MIB/MIB1). Like you I prefer to see the Driving Info display most of the time. So long as I don't select Eco Mode the display always remembers the last display.

What year is your Mk 7? I think these Infotainment systems get updated quite frequently and so I wonder if they changed this behaviour in later models. Do you know which Infotainment system your car has fitted? Does it have Navigation built in?

Stuart
Posted by private, Sun 4 Feb 2018 10:10 am
Thanks for getting back to me. It's a 2015 petrol model, 1.4 Bluemotion. The System information screen shows
Device oart number: 5GOO3582OA
Hardware: 041
Software: 0486
Media codec: N/A